Book review. The Lonely Dark by Ren Warom

the-lonely-dark-cover
Cover art by Daniele Serra

‘Hey you’re two years behind’ I hear you say.

‘Story of my life’ I say while taking a wind up to kick you in the shins.

I stumbled across this novella by accident, let me try to recall….no, it isn’t coming back to me at all. It doesn’t make any difference anyway. I saw it there on Amazon and bought it then and there after reading the synopsis, here it is from the Fox Spirit site.

Irenon and the Cerenauts aboard her will be the final hope of thousands of colonists deserted after the failure of the AI deep space programme. The burden falls on Ingmar and Yuri, orphans both, chosen for their ability to cope with isolation and innate mental strength. But how to anticipate what level of strength might be needed when only one creature, the AI Danai, knows what waits for them out there in the darkness? Danger that cannot be seen, quantified, or understood. That will find them in their worst and best memories, the sanctuaries and horrors of their past and, eventually, the corridors of the Irenon herself.

This is where Ingmar will finally understand the last words Danai said to her, a warning: Stay away from the lonely dark.

Now the first thing I need to let you know is you in no way need to be a fan of Sci-Fi to love or even like this book. The way Ren Warom writes is mesmerizing and as I have said to other people it is beautifully raw and refined. I had to read bits over and over again not because I wasn’t following or couldn’t understand but because Ren Warom sucked me into that world which was so real and flawed that I had to keep living it in my mind. It ripped at my introversion that I’m more than happy with and forced me as a tiny speck into the massive swallowing universe. I was with Ingmar the whole way. Read this book if you are a human or experience human emotions, read this book if you struggle with being alone, read this book if you enjoy being alone.

 

The Lonely Dark by Ren Warom. Published by Fox Spirit Books 3rd December 2014

ISBN: 978-1909348714

Leave a Reply

