Friday Fictioneers: Concrete songs and trolls.

ceayr3

Photo prompt ©C. E. Ayr

Every day I catch the train, only just make it sometimes. I find a seat by the window, somehow I always seem to get one, just my luck.

The singing starts when that scrappy red bridge comes into sight. I sometimes glance to see if anyone else notices. My eyes are drawn to that concrete support. It’s like a mermaid coming out of the tarmac and hardcore sea singing me back there to a place where trolls shouldn’t lurk but do. It smells of grease, dust and concealment. Holding the bridge up, holding secrets down, holding me as a prisoner.

(100 words)

by Swarms Me ©2017

This is my first go at Friday Fictioneers and I really enjoyed it. What a challenge, what a buzz. How scary too!

Click the link to take a look at Rochelle Weisoff-Fields site. https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

27 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Concrete songs and trolls.

  1. Dear Swarms Me,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. No need to be nervous. We’re a very friendly community. 😉 I love the descriptions and metaphors. I wouldn’t have connected mermaids with trains. Imaginative.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    1. Thank-you so much. I have had such a wonderful welcome from everyone. I’m so glad you liked this, I haven’t ever attempted a 100 word story before and it was brilliant. I could have written about five different versions of this but in the end I wanted to let the mind do its thing. Thanks again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved your title! Reminds me of the things I used to imagine while riding the school bus. I absolutely loved the line “It smells of grease, dust and concealment.” So intriguing! Grease and dust I know…but what does concealment smell like? Sends my mind whirring. Wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

