Friday Fictioneers: The Palace of Ten Thousand Arches.

dale-rogerson2
Photo prompt ©Dale Rogerson

The Palace of Ten Thousand Arches and each arch has a tale to tell. Over there is where the first usurper uttered his embryonic plot. Behind us is where the handmaid became a mother and later gutted the man who forced motherhood on her.

At this moment, by the arch right in front of us, His Most Exalted feels like he will marry the handmaiden’s child at 18. He will ask the crone and she will tell him to proceed but give him portents that she knows he will not heed. Her need for justice and revenge will be satisfied.

©Swarms Me 2017

(100 words)

Do you know what I really don’t know if I’m happy with this at all and I really struggled this week. Maybe I’ve had a bad week in general and it’s not even Friday anymore but I’m posting it as a lesson to myself. I think as it reminds me so much as the setting for a place that I have in mind for another story it wouldn’t get out of my head for this prompt.

As always (twice now) thank-you to Rochelle for choosing and pushing us with these prompts. There have been so many great pieces this week and I am only a third of the way through them.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Palace of Ten Thousand Arches.

    1. Thanks Jeannette, I really appreciate your words. I’m glad I posted it just to force my focus a little bit. It would have been too too easy not to put anything up at all. I am hanging in and I hope you are too 🙂 I hope you have made friends with your new paints, you’re getting some gorgeous tints out of them. I love the Terra Verte!

      Like

Leave a Reply

